Like this page? Then share it!
dreadlocks shampoo
Dreadlocks Forums

Just joined. Be nice to me.

Jenny Lee
@jenny-lee
14 years ago
14 posts
I just joined within the minute (no lie). I often inquire about dread care via Google and 9 times out of 10, it brings me to this website SO I figured, why not?I've been debating the idea of dreads for about 7 years now and a friend of mine told me "If you have to think about doing something for that long then should have done it a long time ago." So I did it.Started out as braids because the salon stylist just wanted me to keep coming back for the money. After a month, the braids actually started the "knot". I took them out and back-combed all of my hair. Since my hair is nearly ass-length, this process took 7 hours.I am now at the 4 month mark and have let them go since day 1. I think they're transforming nicely.
updated by @jenny-lee: 02/14/15 12:29:36PM
orbit2332
@orbit2332
14 years ago
65 posts
welcome, glad to see u didnt use wax or go the dhhq route. that would ve been a lot of hair to loose if u did. this site is def a good one to get any info on. everyones pretty nice and SE is on here like 24 7 always ready and willing to help ppl out. good luck and enjoy the journey
tatyananashi
@tatyananashi
14 years ago
145 posts
Only 7 hours to backcomb!? You are fast! :) good to do it after taking out the braids, helps the hair to kinda tangle up easier with the natural curls and bends from the braids. Welcome to the forum!I am at 4 months also, started with nipple length hair right now I am at shoulder length from shrinkage, same as you, I backcombed and then let it be (besides pulling apart congos).
Jenny Lee
@jenny-lee
14 years ago
14 posts