Like this page? Then share it!
dreadlocks shampoo
Dreadlocks Forums

Dread Beads.

pixie
@pixie
14 years ago
144 posts
So I've been thinking about putting some beads in a couple of my dreads. But of course, since I'm new at this, I have some questions for you guys. :)Should I wait until my dreads have tightened more?Is there a certain kind of bead I should use and I shouldn't use?I figured glass would be a good choice, but are wood ones equally as good?I figured I would stay away from plastic.
updated by @pixie: 02/14/15 08:48:35AM
☮ soaring eagle ॐ
@soaring-eagle
14 years ago
29,640 posts
glass looks cool and i have a couple iin now but glass can have dangers as well i smashed a glass bead into my eyebrow and had a bunch of stitches (funny i added more now)woods good metals good bone antler anything stone plastics ok but i think looks kinda cheap (alot like the cheap looking ones dreadheadhq sells)no need to wait i put my 1st beads in straight unknotted hair and let it dread from thereoh peyote sleeves are a great choice too

--
My new book Ban The Taboo Vol 1
Akal Sahai
@akal-sahai
14 years ago
39 posts
I have some simple wood beads I got to hold together looser hairs on my baby dreads. Just needed something so I ran down to the fabric store. But...I love stone, bone that type of thing. If you feel like going about the beading with a more holistic approach, adding in beads made from stones that have healing, other positive properties, I think that's a really good thing to keep in mind.If I get around to it after all the other things there are to do, I might even start painting my own, or using polymer clay to craft some. Hmm, that might end up being a craft I do tonight now that it's rolling around my brain a little more.
momma has dreads
@momma-has-dreads
14 years ago
159 posts