Like this page? Then share it!
dreadlocks shampoo
Dreadlocks Forums

Advice needed!!

Island Mamma
@island-mamma
14 years ago
530 posts
Tell your parents that you aren't comfortable using products with so many chemicals in them and that paraben, aluminum and parfum are found in 18 out of 20 cancer tumors and you want no part in it.Okay I know you weren't asking about that but it popped into my head (probably because I got rid of all my chemicals today, again).
updated by @island-mamma: 07/18/15 02:48:05PM
sadangel777
@sadangel777
14 years ago
68 posts
Hiyas!Being someone who was in a situation like yours where my family/husband weren't happy with the idea of me starting dreads at ALL, I decided to give myself 1 dread. So I have some experience with keeping the rest of my hair "normal".I tried to twist n' rip it and it worked at first, but after a little while it started to come undone (except for one small knot about an inch or two from my root). I stopped using conditioner and was careful not to brush the dread. I also made myself a very small peyote band to slide onto it to keep it separate from the rest of my hair.When it started to come out and turn back into "normal" hair, I gave up and asked my friend to fix it. She did a gentle backcomb on it and wrapped it in hemp. I left the hemp wrap on for a couple of weeks, and when I unwrapped it there was a perfect little dread! Of course, I loved him so much that I finally took the plunge and decided to do my whole head. I'm doing it the natural way in order to give myself and others time to adjust. It wasn't easy, still isn't - but my mom actually told me she thinks they'd look okay as long as they're kept neat! If you knew my mom and how obsessive she is about keeping hair brushed constantly you'd know that this is a huge leap forward (especially considering she told me she'd stop visiting me if I got dreads).Your decision about whether to dread is yours, and I know that living with your parents makes it that much h