Like this page? Then share it!
dreadlocks shampoo
Dreadlocks Forums

Hello from a new Dreader :-)

Adam Williams
@adam-williams
12 years ago
21 posts
Hi all,I'm very new to this, I only started the baby steps a few days ago by leaving my hair untouched after I got out the shower - because I didn't as of yet have Baking soda or residue free shampoo I just used water on the recommendation of something I read elsewhere on the net.My hair is at about 2 and a half inches which I know is shorter than the recommended 3 inch minimum but my hair is very thick and naturally quite kinky/wavy (not mega curly though) so I hope that is an advantage?What else can I do whilst I'm being patient and letting my hair do it's thing? I'm thinking of getting a wool jumper to put over my pillow for the nights, and I intend to get some Tea Tree Oil etc to make some washes.Thanks all!Adam
updated by @adam-williams: 02/14/15 10:52:30AM
☮ soaring eagle ॐ
@soaring-eagle
12 years ago
29,640 posts

well welcome but gotta tell ya the recomended for natural is 6 not 3

3 is if your going for candles dipped in wax 3 is the loose hair at roots and toips number

to twist n rip or backcomb 3 wont do it 4 is min 5 is recomended

6 is the magic number for natural

however

thse are generalities

and the curliness can certainly lower thart

mine dreaded shorter

yours might too

but dont expect alot till u gain more length

its not s race its a journey of a lifetime

--
My new book Ban The Taboo Vol 1
Adam Williams
@adam-williams
12 years ago
21 posts
Ah I'm with ya pal, that makes a lot of sense.Is it wise to use things like Sea Salt sprays and ACV so early?

soaring eagle said:

well welcome but gotta tell ya the recomended for natural is 6 not 3

3 is if your going for candles dipped in wax 3 is the loose hair at roots and toips number

to twist n rip or backcomb 3 wont do it 4 is min 5 is recomended

6 is the magic number for natural

however

thse are generalities