Like this page? Then share it!
dreadlocks shampoo
Dreadlocks Forums

About dreads and crochet hooks

Andréa Columbus
@andra-columbus
13 years ago
7 posts

Hi! I'm Andi, and I've been dreading for about 4 months.I used a crochet hook, which I still use sometimes, but not that often anymore. Since crocheting can damage you dreads, but that's only if you do it like everyday.

And that's actually what I wanna talk about. People are saying that crocheting can backfire the process, but that's SOOOO not true.Crocheting actually helps your dreads too lock up faster. If you don't want like neglected messy dreads, and can't wait until they actually form to real dreads, you can use a crochet hook. They'll probably be mature already at 6 months! And that's really awesome.

Don't flame at me because of this. I know this by fact, since this is not the first set of dreads I've had, and I've made dreads on other people and they turned perfect.

updated by @andra-columbus: 01/22/20 09:33:16AM
Leah "Paddish"
@leah-paddish
13 years ago
16 posts

I'm glad I am not the only one that didn't have crocheting backfire. I don't over-do it but on occasion I will tame some fly aways with a small hook. I don't do it to the point where my hair is breaking, just enough to make them look a little neater. I also dislike the beginning stages where the ends are very loose and frayed looking so I pull those up into my dreads. It seems to help them lock up better. Happy dreading!!

☮ soaring eagle ॐ
@soaring-eagle
13 years ago
29,640 posts

it sure does baxckfitre because they are not dreaded but woven and they woill not even begin to dread properly iuntill at least 6 months to a year agfter you stop crochetting

you have crochetted hair thats not dreads they will not start to dread for a long time after you stop the crocheting and let them dread

--
My new book Ban The Taboo Vol 1
Leah "Paddish"
@leah-paddish
13 years ago
16 posts