Like this page? Then share it!
dreadlocks shampoo
Dreadlocks Forums

What can a freshman say?

Rachel Marcelino
@rachel-marcelino
13 years ago
1 posts
Hi all :) i'm new here but I've been surfing this great site for some days now and I finally signed up so anyway here's a little background of who I am,I am a freshman and I've always been "that different person", I never follow the latest trends or even listen to today's mainstream music you hear on the rave club dance radio that plays over and over you wanna just smack it down, and the song unfortunately gets stuck in your head for the remainder of the day (you get the point). ANYWAY! - before I bore you to death about me rambling about personal kid stuff, me being the person I am,have started my "dread journey" exactly last week on the 22nd and for the first two days I read A LOT about dreads and now, how to 'get' them, the different methods and such. I used this website the most :) I also was I guess desperate for the hair to lock already (I know now that it takes real patience) so I backcombed a bunch and was eager to see the outcome every morning I woke up, like an excited puppy coming out of its Christmas box. I root rubbed, palm rolled, backcombed, and tnr'd. Yes I know, just last week I did that, didn't wash my hair yet by the way; I don't know how or when... But overall, I want my, in time, locs to be grown (right term?) naturally, organically, neglectedly (real term?), natural is key! No wax or nothing. I'm ready for the journey BUT because of the society we live in, i'm a bit discouraged... because like I said, i'm in highschool, I know I'll get dirty looks, upperclassmen no kidding!Right now my hair looks like a mess but mustadmit some have somewhat very loosely locked due to the "unnatural natural" methods of tnr and backcombing so it doesn't really count. I'm afraid of what my friends will think or say and I know I shouldn't be in any way, I just need some reassurance. I parted my hair in the middle on