Like this page? Then share it!
dreadlocks shampoo
Dreadlocks Forums

Hairstylists' and dreads...

Stephani
@stephani
12 years ago
70 posts
a pamphlet is a great idea! Thanks for the suggestion. I will definitely bring that up with them. That school is going to be so sick of me that they may just bend the rules and let me teach a class just to get me to shut up about it lol.Oh I know! Seriously, that bill was just absurd. I can't even begin to explain how infuriated I was about it all. It wa a pretty big deal, Tabatha Coffey even got involved. r/> Valrie said:

Perhaps if you can't teach at the school would they be willing to give out pamphlets regarding dreadlocks during that particular session?

I went to an absolutely HORRENDOUS beauty school and eventually was forced to drop out, 300 hours away from graduating. I just couldn't stand it! When I was a student there, I was showing other student how to make dreadlock extensions because I was wearing them at the time. My particular school DID NOT teach dreadlocks, even as an additional class (I actually had to pay extra to get certified in Japanese hair straightening techniques as well as Braids and Extensions (weaves) and this was back in 2005.

When looking up information about dreadlocks at that time, all I could find was backcomb w/beesewax, egg white wash, locking gels, glue and dread perms (I only recently heard of crocheting - sorry, my hooks are precious and used for YARN ONLY! - and root interlocking as well as the TnR method - which I showed one of my stylist friends from school.) Also, one of the popular stylist sites that I would visit was Hair Police . I just popped over to the site and they actually do dread perms with regular maintenance (which isn't stated) but won't use wax or any of the nasty goopy products.