Like this page? Then share it!
dreadlocks shampoo
Dreadlocks Forums

Dreads look like they are coming undone/thinning!?!?

Dez Flint
@dez-flint
11 years ago
36 posts

Hello everyone. Haven't checked back here in a while. I had got a lot of good advice from people and I applied it and although I am seeing positive results I am also seeing negative ones, either that or I might be stressing and going crazy.

Just to give background information, I have been growing my dreads since 2009 which makes them about 4 years old I guess (not sure if that is considered mature). To give an idea of the length, they drop down to my back. I use to get my hair retwisted by a hairdresser whom specialized with dreads but after my last visit which was in November (5 months ago) I stopped going. She seemed to twist them way too tight and braided them. By the time I took out the braids I felt that there was a big split end on the top of my head. Haven't gone ever since and I got advice here on how to take care of my dreads properly. I didn't get my hair retwisted too much either because I didn't like the style, I only got them retwisted because I thought that is how you maintain them. I usually only got them done 4 times a year too.