Like this page? Then share it!
dreadlocks shampoo
Dreadlocks Forums

dreads and stereotypes

roni
@roni
14 years ago
37 posts
Hi Dreadheads sounds very interesting. could you send a link?apropos stigmas managements: hope to compelte my doctoral studies in 3 years. then I'll show them all :-) NaturalWomyn said:
hey now! i spent a good amount of time in my life "following bands around" and got to see 48 states, meet the most amazing people/phamily I've ever known and experience the beauty of life in an eye opening way! Hubby and I are taking our kids for a little 2 week taste this summer even. So don't knock it till ya try it! Stereotypes suck. Much Love & Many Blessings

Metalhead Fred said:
I have a college degree, but due to the state of my countries' economy and the small shit hole town that I live in, I'm currently unemployed. I make a small bit of money repairing laptops/video games consoles.

If you want to see a true stereotype, check out the film "Dreadheads, A Portrait of a Subculture". Almost every person they interview comes across as a moron who has nothing better to do other than get wasted and follow bands around. Plenty of "labels" for you there.

updated by @roni: 07/24/15 11:40:19PM
Buttafly Jonez
@buttafly-jonez
14 years ago
5 posts
I'm a social worker for children and family. I have a bac. in Psychology and a Master's in Social Work. I also have a nose ring. I'm a professional and dare someone to comment on my Locs or my nose ring. there are cultural and religious reasons why I wear them, other than this is how my hair grows without a man made item raking it everyday. no problems thus far. I think there is a problem because people who have bad hygine also wear them. however, people with bad hygine also wear their hair unlocked. I also live in Los Angeles CA. soooo, It may be different if Ii lived in a less accepting place.
NaturalWomyn
@naturalwomyn
14 years ago
849 posts