Like this page? Then share it!
dreadlocks shampoo
Dreadlocks Forums

Need advice on how to add more dreads to my existing dreadlocks. I have 35 thin ones and want 45-50 more if possible

DiDiLicious
@didifreeman
7 years ago
8 posts

Need advice on how to add more dreads to my existing dreadlocks. I have 35 thin ones and want 45-50 more if possible. Is it possible to add human hair dreadlocks to the roots somehow without having the new ones grow into the existing ones down the road?

Craving more numbers on my noggen !

Any advice is greatly appreciated <3

☮ soaring eagle ॐ
@soaring-eagle
7 years ago
29,640 posts

as you separate new dreads will form the numbers will change all the time

how were they started?

--
My new book Ban The Taboo Vol 1
DiDiLicious
@didifreeman
7 years ago
8 posts

I am pretty new to all this...are you able to expand further on that please? 

They were formed with backcombing, rip and twist and crochet

☮ soaring eagle ॐ
@soaring-eagle
7 years ago
29,640 posts

oh

you crocheted! crochet is extremely bad for dreads and makes them extra thin  because it makes them way too tight (and severely damaged)

unfortunately crochet recovery can take a rather long time! they will thicken up to probably 3 times the size they are now but that can take years

however if you just leave them alone  they will thicken and new dreads will appear all the time

you keep them from growing together by separating them(pull them apart after washing)  when you pull them apart  you get loose hairs between dreads that forms new dreads.

whatever hairs there that you'd be able to attach dreads to will just become dreads

but since you crocheted and likely maintained the roots theres just nothing there to attach anything to.

all the hairs that would become new dreads were forced into existing dreads.

since theres nothing to attach them to other then to the roots of existing dreads they would already be combined into thicker dreads