Like this page? Then share it!
dreadlocks shampoo
Dreadlocks Forums

Young dread needs some answers please!

Supa Dread
@supa-dread
12 years ago
100 posts

What's goin on everyone, i'm new to this so bear with me if some of these questions sound kinda silly. I got my dreading process started back in september 2011. At first, the salon i went to used wax and gel to get them started. Once a month i would go back and they would repeat the process.. Not untill month 3 i told them to wash my hair even though they said i shouldnt. From what i've read, most of you started your own dreads and use mostly natural techniques. With my family life, baby and work i unfortunately dont have the time to do it own my own, so going to a salon once a month is convenient. i have since switched salons and now they no long use the combtwist method( my dreads were getting clumpy), and no longer use that nasty wax, which seems to have washed off my hair completely (thank God). So here are my questions.

1)Is this product im using to retwist called "Rasta Lock and Twist" locking gel good or bad for my hair? and if bad what is a better option?

2) How often should i be washing my dreads, considering they are less than a year old and i dont want them to unravel?

3) Ive been using DHHQ dread soap, but wanna switch out after reading ya'll stories. Whats a better natural method? i keep seeing bs/avc or whatever n i have no clue what that means.

4) due to the fact i must wear a hard hat at my job for 8-10 hours, i cover them with a stocking cap. Can this hinder the locking process?

5) How often should i spray that sea salt solution on my dreads to speed up the process?

P.S i know this is a lot to answer, but i have these new dreads and lots of questions, please try and answer all my questions, i will be forever endebted to you. I look forward to being a long time member of this site.

Much peace and love.

updated by @supa-dread: 02/15/15 07:24:15AM
☮ soaring eagle ॐ
@soaring-eagle