Like this page? Then share it!
dreadlocks shampoo
Dreadlocks Forums

Just beginning my journey using tnr

mommafirefly
@mommafirefly
6 years ago
10 posts

Hi! I’m just beginning the process using the twist n rip method.
A little about my hair: I have super thick and long straight/wavy hair. I have been growing it out for over two years, and it reaches just below my tailbone.
A little about how I’ve prepared myself for this journey: I became interested in beginning dreads a little over two years ago. I began researching and started to allow my hair to reach a more natural state. I stopped coloring, conditioning and gradually cut back on washing. I’m currently able to go a little over a week before my hair begins to get oily. I haven’t used any styling products since that time as well.
I wanted to get off on the best foot possible and also allow myself time to decide if I was sure that this was a journey that I wanted to take. I haven’t changed my mind! So more than two years later; here I am!
I have some concern about how tight I should be making them. I’m only a few in, but they are very tight and hard. It’s also taking me an extremely long time for each! I know that my length will naturally cause the process to be much more time consuming, but I think I may be overdoing it. Should I be looking to achieve super tight out of the gate, or should I ease up a bit and be a little looser about it?
I’m so stoked to finally be beginning my journey, and any insight or help is super appreciated!

updated by @mommafirefly: 06/07/18 11:32:46AM
☮ soaring eagle ॐ
@soaring-eagle
6 years ago
29,640 posts

looser ones dread faster! make then just barely tight enough to survive a few washes  they do not need to e tight the tight ones will dread a lot slower

--
My new book Ban The Taboo Vol 1
mommafirefly
@mommafirefly
6 years ago
10 posts