Like this page? Then share it!
dreadlocks shampoo
Dreadlocks Forums

Need to encourage hair growth&tangling at the roots!

andy macleod
@andy-macleod
12 years ago
15 posts

I hadn't been on here for a while as I've had a busy summer need to update my profile, but I have an emergency! Since I've come back on here I've noticed the new shampoo's etc that are featured. I've been using the baking soda wash for the past 3 years since I discovered how bad the stuff I was using (DreadheadHQ) was, but from what I've read so far this stuff sounds great, I can go back to washing my hair simply! I also like the sound of some of the properties the shampoo's have, so I was wondering if anyone could give me advice of which shampoo's and/or locking gel etc. and maybe other things to try:

I have a bit of loose hair at the roots of my dreads that I want to encourage knotting up. I do clockwise rub about once/twice a week but there are still some sections of loose hair that won't tangle so easily and aren't quite big enough to dread. BUT I also have the unfortunate family history of every man on my mum's side and dad's side of the family being bald in their early 20's, I'm 20 now and have had dreads for 4 1/2 years so I'm terrified of losing them! It's been a stressful summer and since I've come back on here I've been paying more attention to my dreads, and I think my hiar might be thinning! haha any advice would be very welcome, I am trying to come to terms with the looming 'sun-screen on my head' days but I'd like a little longer!

Thanks,

Andy

updated by @andy-macleod: 08/21/21 12:09:09AM
☮ soaring eagle ॐ
@soaring-eagle
12 years ago
29,640 posts

why clockwise rub thats goibg to cause thinnibg and oull hairs right out of the scalkp! stop it

u dont do nothing to encourage them ti dread just let them dread

they do it on their own

leave em alone

let the loose hairs be loose hairs till they wantto be dreads