dreadlocks shampoo
Dreadlocks Forums

Hello my name is Tess—

tess2
@tess2
13 years ago
6 posts

Hello my name is Tess!

I live in Tulsa, Oklahoma. I'm 25 years old, and I'm a graphic design student. I love art and learning from everything and everyone. One day my girlfriend and I started talking how awesome dreadlocks were and how they were so beautiful and we wished we could have them.
Then I'm... well why not? Its just hair. And Ive done about almost every color and every cut (maybe :P)
And then it begun and I started my dreadding process- I'm only 8 weeks old i think. :D

Methods:
I first started backcombing the HELL out of them. Like. I read everywhere "don't back comb more than the first day or so." Well I was so obsessed with them looking perfect I did it almost every day for like a week if not more. I also palm rolled the crap out of them as well.
I was very harsh on my hair. :/
I originally had bleach blonde hair.. and decided I want to be as natural as possible so I stopped doing everything to my hair and dyed it my natural hair color:dark/ash blonde.
I probably would not recommend you dying your hair in the beggining process at all. My locks significantly shrunk. Due to compacting or what have you. They used to be fat, and I miss them! But all is not lost. I have learned to really love and appreciate my hair for what it is. :)

Which is why I now do nothing to it. I don't even palm roll it!~ I can't believe it actually.

Cleaning:
At the very start I was using Paul Mitchells Tea Tree Shampoo. Alright nay sayers bring it on. I know I know shampoo=baddd. But it smell so good. I was hooked. So I used that for like 2 weeks? Maybe it hindered my dreadding process, still not sure. Then I started just soaking my head in a giant pot of hott water and teatree oil. Orgasmic? HELLO! Amazing tingling feeling all over your head :) MMM
After a few weeks I conjoured up a recipe that really helps! And I can't wait to make up new ones.......