Like this page? Then share it!
dreadlocks shampoo
Dreadlocks Forums

Starting Dreadlocks....Very Confused

Cj Edmond
@cj-edmond
14 years ago
6 posts
Soo I moved out and I've been growing my hair for 4 months. Treating my scalp with ACV rinse and aloe vera to get rid of my little dry scalp issue. Now I'm ready to start something I've wanted to do since I was a child. Dreadlocks.In my 5 months I've been doing alot of research on and off. It has only led to my current confusion, now that Im actually ready to start. I want to do a two strand twist to start my dreads of but Im confused on which product/natural substance to use. I have read alot to NEVER add wax due to residue buildup and the fact that is non-soluble doesn't seem to go well with washing it out. But what should be added when starting dreads, everything I read is mixed. One site says one thing another one says something that goes against it. I know I should just learn as I go, but I really don't want to have to start over. I've seen the Knatty Dread Cream but there are really no reviews on that product.So my basic question is; What do I use to start off my dreadlocks other then wax, to keep it somewhat tidy and tight for growth and maturing??Sorry if this has been asked but, I've done alot of reading and I'm still confused. Thanks in advance for the help. Maybe a picture of my hair length will help?
updated by @cj-edmond: 01/13/15 08:49:01PM
☮ soaring eagle ॐ
@soaring-eagle
14 years ago
29,640 posts
nothing is best or aloe very gell or any moisturizing gel or cream since your black and your hair gets dry easirershae butter worksbut u dont wabnt to use anything to help the dreads only to treat dryness

--
My new book Ban The Taboo Vol 1
Cj Edmond
@cj-edmond
14 years ago
6 posts