Like this page? Then share it!
dreadlocks shampoo
Dreadlocks Forums

If this is it, I am tempted to comb out!!!

MiDread
@midread
14 years ago
187 posts
O.K., I have searched the forums for subjects on stiff dreads. None of them seemed to apply to my situation. So, checking to see if anyone else has this issue - or if it even is an issue.Plain and simple, my dreads are stiff. They are not fluffy, they are not soft and they hang like lifeless, hard ropes on my head. I did not use wax, I did not crochet and I do no maintenance except wash, seperate and a few aloe treatments. I have soft water and alternate between Bronners REALLY diluted, a teatree shampoo and BS/ACV to wash.I am afraid this is due to the texture of my hair and I am REALLY not liking it. I see pictures of people with locks on here and most of them look incredibly soft, flowy and fluffy. What is up with mine????? I have been dreading for about 8-9 months now so they are not really "newbies" anymore. They are a little wider than a pencil and are really tightening up. They are loopy and kinky, but incrediby hard. When I squeeze one, it does not give very much - it is not "spongy". Up near the roots they are, but they are not very tight there. Could it be because they are not very thick?I hate the thought of combing them out and giving up. But, I don't want a bunch of "Johnny Clean" looking dreads on my head that never move and hang there like a dead squid (sorry Johnny if you read this, I really don't intend to be mean). I would rather be dreadless.Anyone else have locks like this??? Help????
updated by @midread: 02/14/15 03:31:31AM
Faelwynn
@faelwynn
14 years ago
362 posts