Like this page? Then share it!
dreadlocks shampoo
Dreadlocks Forums

Just beginning.....

Elizabeth Starr
@elizabeth-starr
11 years ago
3 posts
So I'm just starting out on making my dreadlocks. I've had 1 for 2 1/2 months and the other for about a month. I started them both a little haphazardly. They are both at my neck. The first is about an inch & 1/2 at the root and the other takes up the rest of the bottom of my hair (if that makes sense?) so maybe 2 1/2 inches? This one is really loose at the root and a lot of loose hairs. I feel like I should take it out and make it into 2. Or should I just let it be and make the rest of my hair be in neat sections?
updated by @elizabeth-starr: 01/13/15 09:56:12PM
Tara C
@tara-c
11 years ago
644 posts

I'd split the thicker one into two if I were you. You don't want very thick dreads, at least, not unless you know exactly what you're getting yourself into. The thicker the dread, the longer it takes to dry. And the longer it takes to dry, the higher the risk of getting mold if you're not very careful.

Why do you have just two dreads? Are you planning on dreading your whole head, or just those two?

the Barrellady
@the-barrellady
11 years ago
1,302 posts