Like this page? Then share it!
dreadlocks shampoo
Dreadlocks Forums

Thinking about taking The Journey... Pros/Cons?

Anna Boyd
@anna-boyd
13 years ago
5 posts

Alright, so my mind is almost made up on going for dreads... I work in the outdoors industry doing wilderness therapy and my very long hair is becoming a pain to maintain. Pretty much I just have to check with the job I am going for and make sure that they will accept dreads and then Im going for it.

I just wanted to hear from this community - pros? cons?

How is sleeping with them? Do they get annoying to lay on?

Im probably going to get them professionally done, anybody from colorado and know of some decently priced options?

My hair is about 22-23 inches long and pretty thick (its just a little longer than in the attached picture), it has some waves on the underside but overall is pretty straight, think dreads will actually work and look good?

Thanks for any and all opinions and information!

updated by @anna-boyd: 01/13/15 09:10:09PM
☮ soaring eagle ॐ
@soaring-eagle
13 years ago
29,640 posts

no dio not even consider gertting them professionaly done!

ok ill give u loads of opros and cons especialy to going to a professional

pros

dreads are easy to care foor feel amazing build confidence and self worth they empower and enlighten and change your outlook on life

cons to professional dreads

1 huge expence and effort

constant need to maintain (with more expenxse)

99% chance they will do a horible job all the worse things u can ever do to dreads were done by so called professiinals

youur hair is its own professional it knows how to dread itself

working in the wilderness is a great way to dread as dreads are natural

pro/con dreads do act as a filter in a way most ppl admire and respect dreads and find them beautiful but theresa percentage thart have the oposite reaction abnd often loudly

its a pro/com cause tho u get some ppl that way they are typicaly the ppl u dont want round ya anyway