Like this page? Then share it!
dreadlocks shampoo
Dreadlocks Forums

New to the forum and dreading... some questions...

Amanda Martinez
@amanda-martinez
14 years ago
8 posts
Hi my name is Amanda. I'm new to dreading and have some questions. I just started my dreadlock journey a few days ago. I have wanted dreads for a long time and have read a lot of information about it. I decided to go ahead and do it after reading quite a bit of info on this forum. I really enjoy the idea of not combing and spending so much time on my hair and I really love the way dreads look. It also seems to be the most natural way to wear the hair.So saturday night and sunday afternoon my sister and I did the twist and rip method. I'm wondering if we did it correctly. It seems that it is pretty simple and not that hard to mess up but still curious if it came out the way it is supposed to. I figure that at least the hair is in some sort of sections or whatever to start the dreading process anyway.Another thing is that I'm not too sure but I may have went to big on the half ass sectioning we did. We didnt really section too well we just pulled down pieces of hair and eyeballed it, trying not to go over an inch across or so. Some of the sections are kind of square, some triangular and some rectangular. Some are little maybe a little less than an inch across at the root and some maybe up to an inch and a half or so. Will any of this make much difference on the outcome and how thick will my dreads be eventually? I have heard that they shrink in length. How much is that usually?And I have heard people on the forum talk about sleeping with a tam on. Im not too sure what that is. Im assuming some sort of hat. Do I have to do that? i would just prefer to sleep with nothing on my head but if it helps then i guess i will.I have included some pictures of my hair so you can let me know what you think. Im glad to have joined the forum and any advice will be appreciated.