Like this page? Then share it!
dreadlocks shampoo
Dreadlocks Forums

Hello!

Arkynstone GypsyFae
@arkynstone-gypsyfae
10 years ago
37 posts

Ok, gonna give a bit of info. Some of it I've already said in replies to discussions or on my page, but...

I work in the medical industry as a scheduler/clerical assistant. Before that I worked in finance for 8 years. Why is this pertinent? The mindset, for one, and my first and second dread journeys happened at each place respectively.

Several years ago, I decided to dread my hair. I had been wanting to for a few years but hadn't worked up the nerve to do it because every time I mentioned it I got negative and some downright rude comments from family and friends.

"Why would you do that to your hair?" "You'll have to shave your head to take them out." "Dreads are nasty and dirty." "You'll look homeless." "Are you on drugs?" "You'll never get a 'real' job with hair like that."

I wasn't strong enough as an individual yet to turn a deaf ear on any of it.

Then it just happened. Maybe it was because my employer at the time was a super-controlling, "image is everything" freak. Maybe it was just that I was finally growing confident in myself. All I know is that many things were happening during that year and I finally said, "Screw it, I'm going to do what makes me happy." I knew that my hair style or clothing style had nothing to do with my productivity as an employee or my work ethic.