Like this page? Then share it!
dreadlocks shampoo
Dreadlocks Forums

Looking to start dread locks

jacob bonilla
@jacob-bonilla
11 years ago
1 posts

Hello, I am new here not sure what to even call the process of turning your hair into dread locks. Anyways I have been growing my hair out for a few months now I want to experiment with my hair. I do not know ehere to start. I have a few questions idk where to post them on this forum this seems like the best place for now.

1. Can you do your own hair? I do not want to ask others to help me with this process mainly because it will either be costly or They might say no. such as my parents/siblings they have a habit of telling me what to not do with my own hair.

2. what should my hair length be at when starting? mine is pretty

3. what is a good method for starting? I have watch a youtube video on the crochet method where they get the hook and pretty much tangle up the hair problem is i do not like the tangled up look like it has been in the dryer and got tangled up and frizzed up. is their another method i could use thats easy to make it look nice or does the method not matter?

4. when starting how do you shower? won't it come undone?

5. how long does it take to look decent? since school is ending i think this will be a good time to start so when i go back to school my hair won't look bad.

6. are their any special products that is a "must" for dread locks especially for say showering? If so could you briefly explain what they do.

7. is their anything you have come across such as the way people treat you just because you have dreads? i used to grow my facial hair out and people started treating me very rudely because of how i looked. Wondered if this is the same way for dread locks.

updated by @jacob-bonilla: 01/13/15 09:52:00PM
☮ soaring eagle ॐ
@soaring-eagle
11 years ago
29,640 posts

1 u can do them yourself or let them do them themselcves goibg to a pr\o is not only expensive but the worse mistake you can make