dreadlocks shampoo
Dreadlocks Forums

Please help me get started.

Mark Valenti
@mark-valenti
12 years ago
4 posts

Hello, everyone.

I was wondering if you guys could help me get started. I'm a 23 year old white male of Italian/German descent with naturally curly hair. I've been growing it out for the past 10 months or so and it goes down to my shoulders, but usually kinda fros up.

How do I get started with the natural method? How often do I shower? How often do I wash my hair? What soap do you guys recommend? Should I wear a hat? Wooly hat or something?

As you can tell, I have no idea how to get started.

updated by @mark-valenti: 01/13/15 09:25:11PM
☮ soaring eagle ॐ
@soaring-eagle
12 years ago
29,640 posts

throw out the comb throw out the conditioners

there u started

wash when you want to 3wash 1-3 times a week is best

you canj use a dread soap like www.dreadlockshampoo.com the liquid i[]or bar or the baking soda recipe which is a no touch methodf o maybe best warly on

when u wash sghake out to dry then air/dru]iop/si]un dry not towel

in no time it will section itseldf and start tio knot

as it knots up u may se sections try to join together or become one or get too big seperate by ripping them apaert but dont rip apart would be dreads vbefore they start to dread only if they get too big or 2 dreads start to combine

dont wait too long to seperate tho or u will have a mega dread

theres nothing easier then dreading naturaly just wash and seperate thats all

a wool hat if looser like a tam isnt bad but isnt nesacary either it can help some

sea salty sprats on ocasion help too

--
My new book Ban The Taboo Vol 1
James Turk
@james-turk
12 years ago
107 posts