Like this page? Then share it!
dreadlocks shampoo
Dreadlocks Forums

First time with dreads 4 months in.

Keegan
@keegan
13 years ago
2 posts
Hey guys I'm new to dreadlocks, I've had mine in for about 3 1/2 to 4 months now and I'm not really sure how to gauge how they are coming along. I started them off via backcomb an wax for about 2 weeks. Since then I have literally done nothing. Haven't washed (kinda gross) have hardly palm rolled and defiantly haven't waxed. So heres what I need to know, at about this point where should my dreads be? I have straight, white boy hair. I've gotten over worrying about every loose hair but I still don't know where they should be at. Some of my dreads are totally awesome, some suck and feel like a super frayed piece of rope and a few others (about 6) seem like they haven't matured at all. Needless to say their still intact.So here are some of my questions:1. Where should they be at this point of about 3 1/2 to 4 months2. Is it safe to wash them without fucking them up? Probably my biggest concern3. What can I use to wash? I've heard straight bar soap or hand soap works4. What should I do about the few rat nest ones that look like frayed rope. And also I seem to have hardcore drandruff it seems like. Or some kind of white gunk in my hair.I'll try to get some pictures up at some point. Any info is appreciated since I'm so new to this. Thanks!
updated by @keegan: 01/13/15 08:59:39PM
☮ soaring eagle ॐ
@soaring-eagle
13 years ago
29,640 posts

whoa y would u not wassh for 4 months>

ok 1 u got to remove all traces of wax wax prevents dreading prevents maturing they will always suck till u get all the wax out

2 u need to wash to dread they will not dread if u dont keeo them ckean well they will but way way way sklower clean hair dreads best so wash