Like this page? Then share it!
dreadlocks shampoo
Dreadlocks Forums

Hey :) New to Dreading...have some questions

Fawn
@fawn
12 years ago
1 posts

Hey everyone. I'm Fawn, I'm 24 and have many different hats that I wear. I'm a wife of 5years, a mother to a very spoiled, beautiful, smart 3 year old, I'm also a photographer, volunteer at a horse rescue where I do a lot of horse back trail guiding, I'm a health and wellness educator with Shaklee, and I just got a J-O-B as a cook. I love animals, nature, music, hiking, camping, reading, dancing, riding horses, and relaxing with a good book.

I don't yet have dreads. I love the look and am thinking about dreading but as none of my family or friends have dreads I have no support besides my husband saying "go for it", everyone else thinks I'm crazy and that it's anawfulidea.

So I do have so questions...and hope yall can help me with them...

1. some of my family say that dreads easily catch head lice and bugs....I've never had a problem with lice *knock on wood* and would like to keep it that way :) I've read that tea tree oil helps keep them away, how do you use it and if I do catch lice, how do you comb them out of your hair once you have dreads without loosing the dreads?

2. I have a very dry scalp, it's even flaky most of the time, and I've tried everything from dandruff shampoos, to various conditioners, and olive oil, and still it hasn't improved, what can I do to help the dry scalp? Can I still do dreads with a dry scalp and dry hair? Is there any special care for dryness? and what about the flakes?

3. I love to color my hair usually once a year or so...can I still dye my hair with dreads? if so how?

4. I read that the drying process of dreads can take a long time, do you just let them air dry? can you swim in pools with dread? also with washing your hair I read that you can use BS/ACV or shampoo bars, do you wash all the hair or just the roots or where can I find out more about care for them?