Like this page? Then share it!
dreadlocks shampoo
Dreadlocks Forums

Dreading my lion's mane

Christina Rivers
@christina-rivers
12 years ago
5 posts

I am just beginning my dread journey & I am so excited for many reasons, the biggest being that I know this whole process will teach me patience; of which I currently have none.

I am allowing my hair to dread naturally on its own. I am descended from an extremely mixed bunch of people, it's not even worth listing; I'm human. I have a lions mane growing out of the top of my head. My hair is very thick, very soft, and very curly. I have a gajillion tight ringlets. It seems to be dreading but I'm not sure. A bunch ringlets have sort of flattened out and clung together but I see no knots, maybe it's too soon. I've officially left my hair alone (no brushing) for two weeks.

I have been scouring the internet and have neither found answers to my questions nor photos or journeys of people with hair that looks like mine but I have also been creeping this site for a few a few months and I am sure someone here can help me.

My questions are: Should I keep my hair up, like in a bun (because right now it looks like a big mess) or will this thwart the dreading? What is the best way to sleep on my hair, with it pulled up in a bun or loose?

Thanks for taking the time to read & answer.

Oh & here's a horrible photo taken today. You can't really see much but I hope it gives some idea of what my hair looks like:

updated by @christina-rivers: 02/14/15 08:48:30AM
Valérie
@valrie
12 years ago
539 posts

Wow, your hair is gorgeous!

Try to not put your hair up when you sleep or during the day because it WILL slow down the process. Hair dreads better when there is movement and when you sleep on it you will see the most dreading.
What you do want to do though is separate your dreads by pulling them apart periodically otherwise you could end up with a really big congo (I imagine that could happen really easily with your curly hair type.)