Like this page? Then share it!
dreadlocks shampoo
Dreadlocks Forums

Intro/Dread Story

ashley walker
@ashley-walker
12 years ago
35 posts

I'm Ashley, Im a guitarist, a vegetarian, a soon to be music therapist, a hopeless long boarder, a helper, a friend and I started dreading my hair around november 2 2011.

It was sort of a quick decision when i started dreading them, I had thought about for some time and one day i saw a video on how to twist and rip and i just started doing it.

I didn't do it all at once, i made a few every day or every other day. I wasn't going to dread my whole head but thats what ended up happening. My first dread ever is pretty thick now, which is awesome.

No one at school really knew what was going on with my hair, they didn't exactly look like dreads yet. My parents were pissed but, they're used to it now.

Along the way i started taking some out so the back of my head is not dreaded and right now I'm debated on whether i should just let them dread naturally or twist and rip them. The problem is that I have some revealing scalp back there (why i took the dreads out in the first place, along with some matting) but i figure if they're messy enough it'll be fine.

Around 5 or 6 month i started to want my old hair back, because honestly I had some nice hair, i rarely had a bad hair day, but everyone always sort of pushed me around on how I should do my hair (because i liked my hair strait but everyone liked it curly) and yeah it was my hair but it was just annoying, At that time i just missed running my hands through my strait hair. It was a point where my dreads were... deflating (?) but i got out of that phase, and now i freaking love my dreads and waking up and shaking my head a little then going about my day.

but yeah this sites pretty cool so i thought id join and share and ask question :)

updated by @ashley-walker: 01/13/15 09:26:47PM
☮ soaring eagle ॐ
@soaring-eagle
12 years ago
29,640 posts