Like this page? Then share it!
dreadlocks shampoo
Dreadlocks Forums

Day ONE :) Should I sleep with my hair down?

deviant kitten
@deviant-kitten
12 years ago
3 posts

Hi everyone! NEW to dreads, though I have been contemplating and researching probably for a few years now. I have decided IT IS TIME! I have long hair- tail bone length- and because of that I always sleep with my hair up in a bun. It just gets bloods annoying having my hair down when I sleep. BUT- is wearing your hair down necessary for newbie dreads? If so, I think I can get over my annoyance. To tell you the truth, it has been years since I have worn my hair down when in bed. I also wear it up pretty much every day- but again, is it necessary to have your hair down all the time in order to help the hair to dread? Thanks in advance to anyone who replies. Wish me luck!

updated by @deviant-kitten: 01/13/15 09:18:00PM
Baba Fats
@baba-fats
12 years ago
2,702 posts

Wear it down. Wearing it up won't hurt them, but it will delay the process. It bothers me too. So you know what I do... I toss it over the end of the bed above my head, so I don't roll all over them. Then, pretty much no matter how you roll around at night, it'll stay over the end of the bed. No more getting tangle up in it

Guillaume
@guillaume
12 years ago
16 posts

I'd say leave it down. When you sleep, you roll over, you move and stuff. It makes knots, that why your hair looks crazy when you get out of bed. But when it starts locking, you'll see no difference between night and day. By the way, what method are you using?

deviant kitten
@deviant-kitten
12 years ago
3 posts

"Supervised natural" method, lol. I am just letting my hair do what it wants to do, but down the road I will probably palm roll and band them to keep them from being flat and overly-loopy

Guillaume said: