Like this page? Then share it!
dreadlocks shampoo
Dreadlocks Forums

dread rejuvination

Evan Miller
@evan-miller
12 years ago
18 posts

I have been growing dreads for about 2 years now. I have been letting my hair do its own thing mostly, but when I started I did screw around twisting them and lightly ripping and tearing. I think this threw them off their course a bit and some of them look super nappy and unkempt. My hair has a very flat color to it now, especially the back. I was wondering what I could do to save my dreads before I decide to start over with little twists. Any advice on helping the color of my hair and taming the frizz and ugly knots. Would anyone recommend a little bit of wax for the wiley back ones before I cut them?

updated by @evan-miller: 02/14/15 11:25:18AM
☮ soaring eagle ॐ
@soaring-eagle
12 years ago
29,640 posts

hell no no wax no wax no wax lets see pics but what have u been washing with

wax would be a huuuuuuge mistake!

worse idea ever

the color change is probly due to what u wash with ..lint..or dryness

a hot oil treatment will bring em back to life (assumming your african american?)

--
My new book Ban The Taboo Vol 1
Evan Miller
@evan-miller
12 years ago
18 posts

okay, I didn't think I would resort to wax. probably just wrap a few up and get some larger beads. some of them just have big paddles and lumps, I think a bit more time will help cover up all the ugly bumps that I think were caused from backcombing with my fingers and t&r. I have washed with the acv rinse and then baking soda rinse, I then started using non residue grease cutting dish soap, and now I am using a shea butter shampoo that I think has helped. I am not african american. My biggest problem is just the back of my head, anything to do about that?

Baba Fats
@baba-fats
12 years ago
2,702 posts

Woa Woa. NO wax. Wax would only make the problem look fixed for now and then cause HUGE problems later that are VERY difficult to fix.