Like this page? Then share it!
dreadlocks shampoo
Dreadlocks Forums

Dread Growth Problem. HELP PLEASE!

XYZ123
@xyz123
13 years ago
29 posts

Hi! I've been growing my dreads for about, 9 months now (got them mid December). I used the Twist & Rip method, and when I first got them dreaded, they were pretty close to my chin in length, a little thicker too. I know that dreads get smaller in actual size & length because that's how they form, but like I said, it's been about 9 months now, & they're shorter than when I first got them, and have not been growing at all. For the first three months or so, I wore a wool beanie to sleep so it could aid in the locking process and since then I haven't really worn it to sleep.For the first five months I washed my hair about, once a week, but I now currently wash it once every 3 -4 days. The shampoo I use is an Anti-Residue Shampoo by Neutrogena, and I use no locking products in my hair. So I was wondering, why my hair hasn't been growing at all, and how I can fix this problem? By any means. All suggestions are welcome.

updated by @xyz123: 01/13/15 09:10:29PM
☮ soaring eagle ॐ
@soaring-eagle
13 years ago
29,640 posts

wait

your still in the shrinking stage and will be for a few nmore months then they grow usualy round 13 months they begin to grow

nothing to fix that time wont fix

--
My new book Ban The Taboo Vol 1
Panterra Caraway
@panterra-caraway
13 years ago
667 posts

Hair always grows, it never stops...but as the hair is actively dreading, it is also constantly shrinking. When it finishes dreading, it will also stop shrinking. My hair was about 6 in. long when I started 15 mos. ago. Now, the hair that is still not all the way dreaded is to the middle of my back...the hair that is dreaded is at about my chin, which is about where it started (maybe even a bit shorter). So, you see, it is growing...but also shrinking about as much as it grows. That's just how it works :)

XYZ123
@xyz123
13 years ago
29 posts