Like this page? Then share it!
dreadlocks shampoo
Dreadlocks Forums

I'm very new to this game..

Van
@van
14 years ago
6 posts

Hi all, I'm Vanessa. Australian, 18, I have one dread - for now at least.

I've been wanting a couple of dreads for a while now and finally got one 2 days ago. I've been reading on here and I know you're all going to think "stop worrying, just let it happen" etc. but I am worrying. I've never actually known anyone with dreads and so I'm not exactly sure how they're supposed to look or feel. I know it's not going to happen overnight though - I'm not that silly.

I went to a music folk festival and they had a little place there where you could get your hair locked/dreaded... So getting all excited I wandered in and said, rather awkwardly, "hello, uh, could I just get one?" I figured most of the people in my life would scream if I got 'too many' so I decided to start off with one. Seemed logical to me. Also a lot cheaper... I thought that the woman doing my hair would explain to me how to wash my hair, what to avoid, what to do, etc. She didn't... And she also used bees wax which I thought was bad but I couldn't exactly stop her.

So here I am.
I need to wash the rest of my hair but I also need to avoid getting my baby wet... I was thinking of getting the finger of a glove and putting it around it while I shower - would this work?

I'm also worried about the wax... She didn't put a heap of it in and I'm certainly not going to put any more in myself but is there anything else I should do? Or just worry about it when the time comes?

There are a couple of loose hairs poking out here and there too... Leave those?

Is there any way I could try the twist and rip method on this one, lone dread to sort of fix it or would that just make everything worse?

I'm sorry, I must sound so naive to you all but this seemed like the right place to come.

updated by @van: 01/13/15 08:52:31PM
☮ soaring eagle ॐ
@soaring-eagle
14 years ago
29,640 posts