Like this page? Then share it!
dreadlocks shampoo
Dreadlocks Forums

Intro/Questions about starting my own dread journey! Any advice is appreciated!

Kenzy H
@kenzy-h
11 years ago
3 posts

A little backstory: I'm a 19 year old university student! I've been obsessively researching dreadlocks for the past couple of weeks, and I really think that they would be a good fit for me. I've always adored the look and the idea of such a low-maintenance style. I have a pretty laid-back personality and I've been told by quite a few people that I could pull them off. My mom/sister are also interested in getting them, but my mom doesn't want her whole head and my sister wants to wait to grow her hair (even though hers is already longer than mine..). I'm also a snare drummer on the drumline here, so it would be an awesome addition to the look and it would teach me a lot more confidence in performing since you tend to draw a lot of attention. I'm also going to school to be a high school social studies teacher, and when I checked with a staff member in my program about it, she was very open about it as long as the dreads are tied back and relatively tidy with the proper dress and attitude.

Alright, so on to the dreads: Since I have almost definitely decided on jumping into the dread journey, I figure that I should do it sooner rather than wait a couple months just for a tiny bit more length. The sooner I get them the sooner they will begin to mature. I have rather short, straight, layered hair that is on the thinner side and is about armpit length. I was worried about losing too much length, and I think that the twist and rip method would be best because it seems to take the least amount of length off, at least at first. I've read to stay away from rubber bands and especially wax, but I would still be interested in crocheting to keep things tidier while they are locking up.

Questions: