Like this page? Then share it!
dreadlocks shampoo
Dreadlocks Forums

An introduction and request for some good advice!

Jo4
@jo4
11 years ago
3 posts

Hello to all of you heady dready bees!

My names Jo. I've been dreading for about 3 months now. I backcombed for the most part but also did a little twist n' rip here and there.

No wax. I wash with organic honeysuckle soap. It's moisturizer free and works well for the most part. Occasionally, I also use baking soda.

So far, my dreads seem to be locking pretty good. A lot of people are surprised when I tell them they're only 3 months old! However, it has not been an easy journey so far. But I'm happy I haven't given up because I know it'll be worth it once they age!

I started it out with thin, layered hair. Down to my chest. When I first began, and for around the first month and a half I only had 18 dreads! I didn't really notice until I counted one day and I was a little alarmed considering my hair is very thick at the root and they would be big, big fatties if I let them continue to that number. I like smaller / medium dreadies.

When I first did them, I didn't really section my hair out too much or anything. I just kind of grabbed at what looked like 'about the right amount' of hair at the time.

Since then, I've been splitting a bunch in half. Even some in 3 or 4! Now I have 60-62 dreads. Is this a good number for thinner hair that's thicker at the root?

I'm nervous because some of them are now so thin, they almost look like some of the loose hair I have hanging around. I feel like they will get a lot bigger once they mature though, correct?

updated by @jo4: 01/13/15 09:57:14PM
☮ soaring eagle ॐ
@soaring-eagle
11 years ago
29,640 posts

yes they will now i have never really successfully got an Accurate count on mine i think early on there was 75ish

about 18 years in i tried counting and got lost around 200 (i probably double counted a few)