Like this page? Then share it!
dreadlocks shampoo
Dreadlocks Forums

Total Newbie

Shayla Waychoff
@shayla-waychoff
14 years ago
33 posts
Hey everyone. I've always loved dreads on people and always thought they were so cool to get them done! :) Well, my boyfriend has long black hair and I told him I really like the longer, dark dreads pulled back so he's considering doing it since he thought they were bad ass to begin with. Now he's got me into it!I need complete 100% honest answers here. No sugar coating please.I'll admit I'm over weight. I do hold it okay though, for also being only 5'3" but I haven't ever really seen a plus size person with dreads. Am I just not looking in the right place? Who knows. Anyways.. does anyone think it wouldn't work? I'll post a picture of me.

That's me before I cut my hair.. the sad part is.. I just got it cut like.. a week ago! :( So I know I'll most likely have to wait. But that's the second part of my question. My hair was cut into a sort-of Bob hair cut. It's about the nape of my neck in the back and it gradually gets longer in the front to almost my shoulders. Pretty short, I know. So how long before I could do dreadlocks? (I have absolutely nothing against the natural way of getting locks, but I just don't think it's for me. I'd try to use a different method - if that helps at all?)Has anyone done dreads with shorter hair or even my bob haircut? :) And how much do they shrink? Will I look like a spider-head after?Thanks so much guys. :)
updated by @shayla-waychoff: 02/14/15 09:33:53PM
NaturalWomyn
@naturalwomyn
14 years ago
849 posts