Like this page? Then share it!
dreadlocks shampoo
Dreadlocks Forums

New here, hi everyone, need advice...

Arturis Static
@arturis-static
14 years ago
51 posts
Hi everyone,I came upon this site after seeing one of soaringeagle's comments on Johnny Clean's youtube videos. I haven't been posting much but I have always wanted to have some talk about dreadlocks. And I can't think of anyone that I can talk to about dreadlocks in person, so what better way to share my thoughts on the subject than this community !Okay so I have been having a personal dilemma because I have been growing my dreadlocks for 8 years now and kind of see "the end" approaching closer. I want to stick it out until the year 2012 when I cut my dreadlocks off, but I might just shave them off in 2011 (Although I really wouldn't want to)I very much admire those people who have long dreadlocks because of their dedication. I have met people back in Houston's 2006 Jamaica International Festival where some people had locks for 20+Years (yes their locks were like knee length), and THEIR little kids had dreadlocks too!!(a beautiful sight).So my dilemma isn't having dreadlocks much so, but the length. They are past my shoulder's but just above my waist line. I cannot see myself with dreadlocks down my waist line (Something that might happen by the year 2012), yet I DO NOT wish to trim them. Yet I Do Want to keep the dreadlocks (Ah Dilemma !!) And with Job hunting, I don't think dreadlocks are that "socially accepted', especially since mine are LONG and I live in Houston,TX.I believe in its either ALL Or Nothing! And with my spirituality growing during these past years, I feel as if my locks are part of my spirituality (No I am not Rastafarian). I could keep going on about why, how, and what Dreadlocks mean to me, but this has gotten long enough.So to help me gain a better understanding I need to know what YOU think in regards to when YOU would cut your dreadlocks, and whether you believe in Trimming them to t