Dreadlocks Forums
derduda
@derduda
6 years ago
2 posts

Hi dreads-

:)

i'm just starting out natural, 

i already had half a head of dreads half a year ago, but i cut them off because i prefer the wild look and character of natural dreads

so,my hair's about 12 cm long now, no signs of dreading yet

and i'm wondering...

arround here's a guy with natural dreads, and they are ALL very thin.

i don't like that. Before i cut my hair, there were some naturally forming, and they were on the small side, too. 

i'm sure there are some factors influencing the size in which they form,  besides one's hair structure...

any tips, ideas, experiences, thoughts? Please share:-)

☮ soaring eagle ॐ
@soaring-eagle
6 years ago
29,640 posts

well.. rainbow08wyoming103.JPG when mine were 18 years in most were pretty thin. the reason was i separated often, cause my 1st set, had formed as a neck pillow (short wide beavertail that fit right under my neck) and, 2 horns on top

it wasn't just 3 dread, there were 4 or 5 other lil ones  but most pulled into those 3

this time i separated often so i had 1 or 3 thick (1 inch) and over 70 thin.. at 1 point found 1 that was  1 mm x 2 mm and that was 3 thinner dreads congaed. 

at the time this picture was taken i had been using the baking soda (regret ever suggesting that)  and the ends were getting lost often, i thought from dragging on the ground. well it was the baking soda that made them weak

long story short i stopped separating, so when the hair at my head reached the ground it would be stronger. as many as 6 thin ones joined into thicker ones.. but still always new dreads are born.. 

dont worry about the sizes as long as they don't get too thick (that  where trouble starts) after they mature and thicken you can always let them congo