Like this page? Then share it!
dreadlocks shampoo
Dreadlocks Forums

Fusion/Dread Extensions??

unsettlingg
@unsettlingg
7 years ago
2 posts

Hiya! I'm a newbie to even thinking about real dreads, and have had synthetic dreads for two years. I would LOVE to get some beautiful real dreads of my own, but my hair is so short, and I would adore having much longer dreads than I would end up having. So here's what I wonder: I've seen a small number of people talk about "fusion" or "dread extensions" where you needle felt a synthetic (or real) dread to the end of your dreads, to make them longer.  I just don't know if there's an official name for it  which makes it very hard to search for. I'd love to learn more about is so I can get going on my real dread journey.

If you have any info at all, I'd be very grateful! Thanks! Laugh

maxresdefault.jpg
maxresdefault.jpg  •  66KB

updated by @unsettlingg: 06/15/17 01:52:17AM
☮ soaring eagle ॐ
@soaring-eagle
7 years ago
29,640 posts

its extremely harmful and most people hate extensions cause they feel so fake and like dead weight..no real connection to them

dreads grow..they extend themselves over time

i started with very short hair too

now they are 7-10 feet long dragging on the ground

with dreads you will really regret taking shortcuts especially if you do indeed want 'real dreads'

theres several ways to do extensions almost all brutally harmful.. felting is the worse thing you can do to dreads.. every hair the felting needlye touches is shredded to peices.. they are extremely weak with the average hair length being under 1/4 inch just held together by the shreaded tattered edges.

crochet.. slightly less harmful but still brutal