dreadlocks shampoo
Dreadlocks Forums

Thinning dread and falling out

Irene
@irene
10 years ago
3 posts

Hello,

I have been growing dreadlocks for about 12 months. they have been started in a saloon with the crocheting method. In a year, I have been twice to maintain them and had two crocheting session.

Today many dread, on the top of my head, started thinning and falling out. My impression is that part of the root broke and the dreads started to become thinner and thinner (see photos).

To give you some background:

- The dread were rather small since the beginning, probably less than an inch/root per dread;

- In the past I have used to put extensions to my hair. Result is that I lost many of them on the top of my head and front. This is also why I decided to start growing natural dread and avoid further damage;

- My hair are generally thin;

- I have no diet concern or particular nutrient deficiency (blood test results are generally fine). Every now and then thought my finger nails become weak and break;

- I wash may hair twice a week with a shampoo called "repairing shampoo" Of Occitane. I put natural argan oil twice a week on the scalp.

- I sleep with a silk net

Today I am wondering what are the steps I need to take in order to avoid further damage to may dread/hair and let the dread recover and grow. I guess I should stop crocheting, as suggest in the forum, but any other suggestion?

Thank you very much,

Irene

updated by @irene: 01/13/15 10:05:50PM
☮ soaring eagle ॐ
@soaring-eagle
10 years ago
29,640 posts

absolutely stop crocheting

1 thing to note u say they were thin to start..then say less then an inch atthe root

an inch at the roots the thickest u would ever want

crochet generaly makes dreads 1/3rd the thickness of a healthy dread with the same sized section

now the shampoo your using is not dread safe! stop using it and use a dread shqampoo