Like this page? Then share it!
dreadlocks shampoo
Dreadlocks Forums

Does Baking Soda actually damages hair?

Ram González
@ram-gonzlez
10 years ago
2 posts

So im starting dreadlocks in about 2 weeks, and i decided to stop using my normal shampoo and start using the non-residue alternative earlier so my scalp would get used to it.

I wanted to go with the baking soda + water in a spray bottle method, but it seems that baking soda actually harms and ruins the hair after some time of use, as i read several posts on the internet.

So for all of you who use Baking soda to wash your dreads, whats your experience on it? have you noticed hair/dread damage over time? how often do you wash your dreads?

updated by @ram-gonzlez: 01/13/15 10:04:33PM
Sarahface
@sarah16
10 years ago
108 posts

I have been dreading for over a year and seven months and I've used baking soda throughout the entire process. I wash about twice a week. The things I love most about baking soda is that it leaves your hair SO clean feeling. I wash afterwards with an apple cider vinegar rinse to help condition. And if I'm in an absolute hurry to get out of the shower, I will wash with Vicki's Lockin' Up Shampoo from dreadlockshampoo.com. This shampoo is great and smells amazing but I just don't get that amazingly clean feeling afterwards like I do with the baking soda.

As for the effect it has had on my hair, I noticed that it does leave your hair brittle at times, which is why its so important to condition with the acv. When I separate it can be pretty easy to accidentally snap the hairs that are caught between two dreads. But my dreads themselves are strong and healthy, I have no weak spots or signs like they are being damaged otherwise.

interrstella
@interrstella
10 years ago
41 posts