Like this page? Then share it!
dreadlocks shampoo
Dreadlocks Forums

Grey hair? Mildew? Or Baking Soda build up??

Chris Harrington
@chris-harrington
10 years ago
6 posts
Hello, I'm not normally one to worry too much about issues regarding my dreads, but I was wondering if anybody could help me? I have been letting my hair dread naturally for about 9 months now and have noticed the tips of some of my dreads are looking quite greyish white in colour. Now, there are a few factors involved and I'm not sure if I'm worrying about nothing but here goes! I have been washing my hair with Baking Soda (or Bi Carbonate as we call it here in the UK) and acv rinse, I wash it once a week and do it in the morning as to give it a chance to air dry before I go to bed. So I was wondering could this be a build up of Baking Soda? Or worse still, could it be mildew? My hair doesn't smell and its always dry before I go to bed, and as far as I'm aware I am rinsing it properly?? Another possibility is grey hair, I do have quite a few of em coming through and being that I've never dreaded my hair before I'm not sure how grey hair looks when it dreads? Any help would be welcomed!
updated by @chris-harrington: 01/13/15 10:02:57PM
Linus
@linus
10 years ago
43 posts

Thats the baking soda thats destroyed your hair, i had the same and you need to change shampoo.

If you look at my latest pic you can se that the big dread at the side is almost completely white, and thats because of the baking soda.

☮ soaring eagle ॐ
@soaring-eagle
10 years ago
29,640 posts

actualy the tips often get lighter in color from being tir=ed up in summer sun

baking soda cannot build up it tuirns to gasses if u were mixing baking soda and acv or not rinsing between the 2 it might have damaged the hair

but to me that looks like typical sin bleaching or 'highlighting" baking sioda if too weakl can leave a gr=ey dead slkin paste at the roots

not the tips