Like this page? Then share it!
dreadlocks shampoo
Dreadlocks Forums

Gunky Scalp?

emily stuart
@emily-stuart
11 years ago
1 posts

Ive had my babies for a few weeks, me hair is just above shoulders. I have been using bi carb and vinegar for a few years already. But the problem is when i had my old hair id use a very fine bristle comb and litrelly comb the funk out of my scalp, but i cant now and bi carb dont wash it out, i have to get my nails in before i have my shower and i find its not working. I mean i have to wash my hair with bi carb every day or at less second day to have my hair and scalp feeling healthy. But with new dreads is this too much washing?

updated by @emily-stuart: 01/13/15 09:55:59PM
Angel Frye
@angel-frye
11 years ago
409 posts

Invest in some good EO's(essential oils) that'll help. Lavender, basil, lemon, orange, etc. Once every other day is a little extreme. The problem is that baking soda really dries the hair out so you have to watch how much damage you're doing. Once every two or three days is the average.

Once your locks are further along and seem to have some stable, steady progress then you can move onto using dreadlock shampoo bars with EO's in them. That will definitely help with the gunk.

the Barrellady
@the-barrellady
11 years ago
1,302 posts

Hi Emily, using the bicarb and acv is different when you have dreads. Are your ratios this: 1/2 cup (.24 liters) to 5 cups (1.18 liter) water. Mix well and pour over wet head. Leave this on for 10-20 minutes without scrubbing the scalp at all, It will exfoliate the dead skin all on its own....now rinse out well.....next....1-2 capfuls of ACV to 5 cups (1.18 liter) of water. Pour over head and rinse out right away.

So yes, the BS will work if left on long enough to do the job. Before, as you said, you were able to comb it out etc, but leaving it on for the 10 minutes minimum will do the same thing. Try this way and let me know how it works.....peace

I used this for my entire first year....