Like this page? Then share it!
dreadlocks shampoo
Dreadlocks Forums

REALLY not enjoying the attention i'm getting at work for my hair. don't know what to do

Mel3
@mel3
11 years ago
5 posts

hi all

so i work part time as a cashier at a grocery store. i was hired no problem with my hair, they know i keep it clean.

i've been dreading for about a year and a half.

a few things are starting to bother me though, when i'm at work. a lot of people comment on my dreads, or ask how i made them. that doesn't bother me too much, but when someone brings up Bob Marley or Rasta, i feel annoyed. i live in a town where thousands of Jamaicans live part time. most of them shop at the store i work at, because it has lots of international foods.

sometimes when they come through my till, they'll call me 'rastagirl', or ask me if i'm a real rasta, or a rastawoman, or if i smoke weed, like bob marley, etc.

i don't believe they are trying to annoy me though. they are all very nice and polite.

it has only been since i got the job about 2 months ago that i've truly considered brushing my dreads out. i don't want to, personally, but the attention i'm getting on my hair is making me self conscious and anxious.

i guess i'm just asking for tips, advice, or inspiration or opinions. thanks everyone

updated by @mel3: 01/13/15 09:55:08PM
☮ soaring eagle ॐ
@soaring-eagle
11 years ago
29,640 posts

just be honnest

i know alotta rastas and hang out with them often

1 old rasta i used to vend with (cant remember his name off the top of my head) asked me once "rastafari do you defend"

wich at 1st didnt understand his accent lol but after he repeated it i just said well i respect rasta blielefs and percentage-wise i maybe slightly more rasta then many other things, but ive never been able to say i know 1 things right and all the rest wrong

and when asked if ui smoke i say yea but very lil very rarely