dreadlocks shampoo
Dreadlocks Forums

Dreads and the healthcare profession...

Staceylyn1471
@staceylyn1471
11 years ago
3 posts

Hi all!

I am seriously considering dreads. The only thing that is keeping me from taking the plunge and making the commitment is...I know that a lot of people consider them to be "dirty" or a sign of the drug culture. I am a nurse and I am concerned about not being accepted by my patients. When I had purple hair I was often questioned by my patients regarding my nursing skills and competence because of the color of my hair!

I was wondering if any of you who are working in healthcare could comment on how your dreadlocks have impacted your ability to establish rapport and a working relationships with your patients. Is this a valid concern or am I just worrying about something that is not an issue. Thanks for your input.

Stacey

updated by @staceylyn1471: 01/22/20 09:33:16AM
☮ soaring eagle ॐ
@soaring-eagle
11 years ago
29,639 posts

your worrying over nothing

the worse thing thaat will happen is you get flirted with more

u might get 1 or 2 asking how u do that but tharts bout it

--
My new book Ban The Taboo Vol 1
Karl
@karl
11 years ago
2 posts

I have asked myself the same question since I'm going to study medicin or becoming a nurse. Some people will judge you and you may lose some respect, which my result in they asking for another nurse. The same way people have problem with skin/age/sex/faith (the list goes on), even if your patient is stupid and judgmental doesn't mean you can do a good job. I find the question you should be asking your self is do I want dreadlocks or not. By being caring and showing even the most judgmental patients you do a good job can change their minds about dreadlocks.

Staceylyn1471
@staceylyn1471
11 years ago
3 posts