Dreadlocks Forums

How do I tell my parents?

eva
@eva
12 years ago
38 posts

Hahahahaha !So does my dad. !

Baba Fats said:

people can surprise you sometimes. I wish I were as lucky as you. My mom still hates mine. It's been years. My dad still thinks the only reason I have them is to "look black"

updated by @eva: 07/23/15 07:42:51AM
eva
@eva
12 years ago
38 posts

Hello hannah :) I came here to originally offer some advice but it seems likeeverything worked out :)Im glad !! My mom and one of my brothers reactions were just that they are dirty and well every other dread stereotype ! But once youexplain tothem what dreads really are and how they are exactly the opposite of most stereotypes, mine didn't really mind. My dad also thinks im just trying to look "black" ahaha . What I love to hear is that you are doing them and you dont care what people. I wish I would have done that earlier !! I wanted dreads since I was in like gr8 but never got them. Finally, after I graduated from high school I dreaded my hair. Good luck on your dread journey my dear :):)

Peace and love.

Ahil Ganesan
@ahil-ganesan
12 years ago
53 posts
Honestly that is so good to hear that you could change your parents minds about dreads, dread success stories are honestly so good to read :) im lucky enough to have cool parents. my parents are Indian and back home there are respected naked Hindu priests who have dreads, practice yoga and smoke weed spiritually. They're called sadhus. My parents tease me about beig a sadhu but that's about it. Just thought I'd share that with you all. Good luck with your dread journeys peeps
Brayden Wilks
@brayden-wilks
12 years ago
1 posts