Like this page? Then share it!
dreadlocks shampoo
Dreadlocks Forums

How do I tell my parents?

Hannah :)
@hannah
12 years ago
21 posts

I stopped brushing on 10/11/12 (cool, huh?), so Im only a few days in. oh, and Im a freshman in high school!

My family is not very easy to relate to given my artistic, spiritual personality. they are more go-with-society people and are very concious about what others think of them/us. my mom doesn't care about me being popular but alwaystells me when she thinks I look "weird" or that other people will think Im a "freak". the thing is, I dont care about that stuff, or at least try to teach myself not to. they are great people but just dont really understand me a lot of the time.

How do I go about telling my parents I am starting to grow dreads? my mom would probably look at me and say "No." with a disgusted look on her face, and then give me a lecture about looking like a freak or whatever. She would never understand the spiritual things that come with growing dreads, which is one of the main reasons Im doing this, as a sort of therapy. I know if I say dreads, she will think of the sterotypical thought where you dont wash your hair at all and smoke pot and whatever.Im considering waiting until she says something about my hair, and then just say Im letting it be natural and let it do what it wants.

what should I say?

updated by @hannah: 02/14/15 08:29:51AM
Baba Fats
@baba-fats
12 years ago
2,702 posts

Don't wait.

I was arebelliousteen. So this might seem a little extreme to you, but I'd advise you to just do it. Are you waiting to tell your parents out of a desire to get their approval? If so, then you probably wont. And then it will be a constant fight when you grow them anyway. So since the fight will happen, you may want to avoid adding to the fire how you are disrespecting them.

http://www.dreadlockssite.com/forum/topics/trying-to-convince-your-parents-to-let-you-get-dreads-here-s-the