Like this page? Then share it!
dreadlocks shampoo
Dreadlocks Forums

Free form first time dreading, need advice with mixed hair?

Bryan Avery
@bryan-avery
11 years ago
4 posts

So I have mixed hair (black/white) and Ive been free forming now for about 3 months and I can definitely see the progress. my hair is very curly and its just a bunch of coils as you can see in my pictures. Anyways the point is, up until last week I was using a Yes To Carrots shampoo which I think was very good for my hair texture, good in this case meaning bad because my hair is still very nice in my opinion despite neglecting it for 3 months. My question is is my hair too nice right now to dread on its own or am I paranoid? To describe my hairs activity as best as possible, it has taken my curls' natural patterns and sectioned itself nicely and most of the curls/coils themselves have begun to twist and tangle inside themselves. To me it feels as though they are dreading but Im far from an expert on the subject. The bases of the curls are turning like hard but at the same time its not exactly at the root, feels like the start of the dreading process to me but I just want a good opinion from someone knowledgeable on the topic. I switched to cheap bar soap and it feels like it works better at like drying my hair out when I get out of the shower, but by time I sleep on it I cant really tell a difference in my hair texture. I wash my hair about 2-3 times a week with bar soap depending and I wash it daily with just water and I always let it air dry. Help plz? My minds full of questions and Ive no one to answer them!

updated by @bryan-avery: 01/13/15 09:45:21PM
☮ soaring eagle ॐ
@soaring-eagle
11 years ago
29,640 posts

i6t sounds kike its dreading but u should not use regular bar soap when u take a bath..not shower withoit washing the tub for a week u see that ring odf soap scum? thats in your hhair making it gunky and gross plus hand sp]oaps are conditioning (dove is 3/4 moisturizers remember?)