dreadlocks shampoo
Dreadlocks Forums

Hello everyone! :)

Fimbul
@fimbul
11 years ago
31 posts

Hai guys!

I am a newbie to the forums and just wanted to say hello and THANK YOU to all of you, without you I would have screwed up bigtime without a doubt - and would probably be both poor and dreadless by now! :)

My name is Fimbul, and I have literally just started my dread journey after years and years of synthetic horribleness, admiring the locks of others and ultimately chickening out every 5 minutes! I am so so proud of my little baby dreads, and I am loving every second of my journey!

I began 5 days ago, washing my hair with Green people's rosemary non-residue shampoo. I should mention that I am one of the lucky souls of the world who is allergic to soy, and it's in absolutely everything, so I have been using Green people products for nearly a year now, all organic and lovely.

I started to dread my bangs using the twist and rip method. Then, the next morning, when they had all fallen out (ha!) I decided to approach the whole thing differently. My hair is just past chin length naturally, and is natually wavy but the short length means that it hasn't formed into it's kinks yet - so it's quite straight and smooth.

Gradually, each day (while at work!) I worked each section gently with my fingers, almost like backcombing but without the brutality, and began slowly twisting and ripping each bit, one at a time. I now have 14 beautiful little babies, without any wax, elastic bands or other nasties - and I am so excited! What's more, THEY HAVE STAYED PUT!