Like this page? Then share it!
dreadlocks shampoo
Dreadlocks Forums

Why I chose to dread...

Rebekah Abigail Dobbs
@rebekah-abigail-dobbs
11 years ago
6 posts
Hey, I am a newb, just starting my dreads, Ive only got two strands started because I am honestly a bit nervous to do my whole head all at once right now, so im taking baby steps. My friends arn't too supportive of me starting my dreads because I am dreading as a form of rebelling against vanity and bringing out/ expressing inner spirituality. Because vanity- it is so frequently a decider in American culture, whether people think your "acceptable" enough to fit their visual requirements. I'm honestly done with people only just knowing me as just one of those pretty girls and not being curious as to what I have inside.I'm so ready to be dready!!! Any tips on how to get over the disapproval of the people around you and accept you inner dready self?Anything's helpful :)
updated by @rebekah-abigail-dobbs: 07/22/15 12:18:27PM
Kim Brisebois
@kim-brisebois
11 years ago
13 posts

When people don't understand why my hair looks like this, ( it's not dreads, i've just started my journey) I explain them what I'm doing. And nobody disapproved what i'm doing. It's my head, not theirs. The first day, I thought that I looked weird, but I learned to look at me in the mirror and tell me I'm beautiful and it's true, I am beautiful even with messy hair!

Shannon Jarvis
@shannon-jarvis
11 years ago
2 posts