Like this page? Then share it!
dreadlocks shampoo
Dreadlocks Forums

Im a newbie dreadhead and i want your opinion!

Brian McGeorge
@brian-mcgeorge
12 years ago
2 posts

Greeting fellow dreadheads! I recently had my hair dreaded, been wanting to do it for over 10 years and finally grew a pair and did it. I have been doin A LOT of research all over the web including this site and still cant seem to get any straight answers. Heres the scoop...

About a month ago a good friend of mine sectioned my hair and backcombed it, no wax was used.

After working on it for a few hours a day for 5 days it was finished and i put them all in rubber bands(one very loosely at the root and one tighter at the tip) and washed them in salt water.

Once a week i wash my scalp with water, baking soda and tea tree oil, let it set in my hair for about 30 min then rinse it out, dry the dreads a bit then spray them all over with a spray bottle full of salt water, wrap it in a towel for another 30 min, then air dry.

Ive had to have my friend "re-backcomb" a few that were coming loose partially due to her getting kind of lazy about the backcombing towards the end(i dont blame her it was a long process).

I still have the rubber bands in my hair, a girl at my work with some fairly mature dreads swears i should leave em in for 5 months cause i have such fine, straight hair(as does she)

Some are starting to lock well and some are starting to completely fall apart

i have lots of frizzy loose hair on the top.

SO.... now that you have my info, any opinion on the process ive been using so far would be a great help. Every source i check says the opposite of the last one i read. Im running in circles over here.

updated by @brian-mcgeorge: 01/13/15 09:22:49PM
Tara C
@tara-c
12 years ago
644 posts