Like this page? Then share it!
dreadlocks shampoo
Dreadlocks Forums

dreads or dream job

Andrew Harder
@andrew-harder
14 years ago
33 posts
so i'm currently a full-time college student/lifelong skibum, and i decided to start my dreads a few months ago. i had wanted them since i was 10 or so and had done quite a bit of research about dreads in the past. i've been growing my hair out for the last couple years and i had a pretty good amount of thick hair down my mid/upper back or so. now since i'll be looking for temporary and or long term job opportunities in the near future in the medical field i felt the only remotely acceptable way for me to shape them was to keep them fairly uniformly shaped and "tidy". so i started them by backcombing. and i blunted the tips later. now i realize that is a bit different than some of you feel dreads should look but i like how they've started to mature. they are of a wide variety of size and length but i'm pretty pleased so far.bad news or a blessing in disguise:now i applied for a job at a snowboard camp for the summer with little expectation of even securing an interview... i have an interview later today! i'm pretty stoked but it looks like i'll most likely be required to cut my dreads for the position. quite saddened by this but its a sacrifice i'm willing to make at this point. 2 months ago, shortly after starting my dreads i suffered a T-12 compression fracture and fractured my tailbone by coming up short on a a jump on the first day of a five day snowboard trip. it's been a tough couple months finishing the school year on high doses of pain meds but i've almost made it! if i can do that, i think i can deal with some setbacks in my dread journey too.
updated by @andrew-harder: 02/04/18 05:50:01PM
Justmyparanoia
@justmyparanoia
14 years ago
15 posts