Like this page? Then share it!
dreadlocks shampoo
Dreadlocks Forums

ceebenn
@ceebenn
8 years ago
36 posts

Hello all. I am a complete novice and newbie when it comes to dreads. I just started to consider "hair freedom" recently, while going through a lot of other personal changes. Yoga has been a big influence on me, as has music and drumming. I don't know what my path is, I am focusing on peace and openness to see what my outward expression and interaction with the world will be. I have been very introverted and self-conscious and I realized my appearance is part of that. So I am deciding to take a "live and let live" approach! I call my method "restraint" because it is not neglect. It is curious observation as to what my self wants to express.

Last summer, in an impulsive moment, I used a hair trimmer and buzzed my hair down to about 1/4". I felt bold and excited at first, but it was very hard to be peaceful after I made this choice. I was hugely self-conscious and uncomfortable. As the months went by, I struggled, and only felt better when my hair was back to its "normal" length (which is still pretty short). I have trimmed it once or twice, but have found that I want to let it grow and let it be.

I investigated methods, and felt resistance to all but the most organic approach. My hair goes weird curly directions in the back, and looking at it, I feel like it has a dread-y style to it already. ?? I admit I have pulled the ends and tried to find out if there are clumps or pieces to twist, and I have twisted and pulled a few strands. Not sure if this is the way to go?

Here's to a fascinating journey!

Save

updated by @ceebenn: 02/03/18 03:51:15PM
ceebenn
@ceebenn
8 years ago
36 posts

Here are my Day 3 pictures.

updated by @ceebenn: 08/05/16 09:43:16AM
☮ soaring eagle ॐ
@soaring-eagle
8 years ago
29,640 posts

that's going to dread interestingly